Summer Reading ’08 and unrelated Italy pictures

1.  Emily Ever After by Anne Dayton and May Vanderbilt–The main character in this book kinda got on my nerves, but at the same time, I couldn’t really hate her because I know too many people like her..

2.  The Forbidden by Beverly Lewis–I am a huge Beverly Lewis fan..but after you read most of her books, you get to where you can totally call what’s going to happen next..Still good..

3.  Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie–This was my first A.C. book, but probably not my last, even though I did work on this book for months before I finally finished it..

4.  Healing Stones by Nancy Rue and Stephen Arterburn–I bought this book because I absolutely adore Nancy Rue’s flagpole girl series and because this was only $5..It wasn’t as good as the flagpole girls, but I liked it, as did my friend Jeannene..We both read it on the Italy trip..

5.  Excellent Women by Barbara Pym–I bought and read this in Italy and I absolutely adored it!  Kind of an unexpected ending, but excellent all the same..

6.  The Overachievers by Alexandra Robbins–I wanted to read this book because it sounded like me when I was in high school, but compared to the kids in this book, I was an underachiever..This book went back and forth between talking about the kids and more research-y stuff (aren’t I intellectual?)..The student part and some of the research was super interesting..Altogether, very good..

7.  84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff–OH MY GOODNESS–this is going on my list of top five desert island books..I read it in about 2 hours Saturday afternoon..If you haven’t read it, go.to.the.library and check it out (Barnes and Noble doesn’t have it.  I went Saturday night and asked.)

8.  The Girls by Lori Lansens–hmm..This book reminded me of Where the Heart Is, which I read last summer, which is strange, because the storylines are nothing alike, but something about the tone or style just made me think of that book the whole time..good, but kinda sad..I can’t imagine being attached to someone at the head, even this girl, who is one of my best friends..

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Summer Reading ’08 and unrelated Italy pictures

  1. bodyof

    Good Blog, good pic!

  2. Kristina

    I’m a HUGE Agatha Christie fan… which was spurred by my mother who has the whole collection. I suggest Murder on the Orient Express and also And Then There Were None (also published as 10 Little Indians). They are 2 of the only books that she wrote without Poirot or Marple as the detective (that said… I love Poirot).

Leave a Reply

