“I wish I could back up, and start all over” –Alan Jackson

Do you ever think about what your life would be like now if you had made different choices when you were younger?

I do.

I wish I had been able to keep taking baton lessons when I was little, after my teacher retired, so I could have been a majorette in high school.  Or I wish I had been able to take ballet, or be a cheerleader.  I wish I had been more outgoing, but then again, that’s mostly just my personality.

And sometimes I just wanna go back two or three years, and start college again with a different major.  Like art history.  I really want to be an art history major (except for the required drawing class).  Or, linguistics, or something like that, so I could translate the Bible into different languages–wouldn’t that be a great job?  I love languages..And of course, every time I watch “You’ve Got Mail” (my favorite movie!) I want my own little bookstore.  (Then I remind myself that the same thing would happen to my store as happened to Meg Ryan’s..)

Today I was not in a good mood and I decided that I did not want to be an education major anymore.  Then again, the other day I had this realization just because I’m an ECE major, I don’t have to teach elementary school for the rest of my life.  If I don’t like it, I can do something else.  I don’t know why I haven’t really thought about this before.  If I hate teaching, I can get my doctorate in art.  Or whatever.

I don’t really think that I’m going to hate teaching; I think I’m going to like it.  It’s just nice to remember that I can change my mind at some point and do something else. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

