Cooking with Katie Lee..

So I posted about this book a while back..Longer ago than I thought, now that I’m looking back at it..And I’ve finally gotten around to trying it out! 

(Sara tries the monkey bread)

A few weekends ago, I went to my grandmother’s house with all the stuff required for monkey bread, which is basically cinnamon-y, sugary little biscuit balls, suitable for dessert or breakfast (we ate it for both)  If you come to my house, I will make you some of this..

Last Sunday I was procrastinating, so I decided to make the Cookies’n Cream truffles..It’s Oreos ground up in a food processor with cream cheese, then frozen and dunked in dark chocolate, and then frozen again.  Wow–yum!  Very rich, very good..

And finally, Monday night I tackled the pizza Margherita..I wanted to see if it tasted like Italian P.M.  This was the hardest recipe I’ve tried from the book so far (the first two were easy-peasy)..The dough and the sauce are made from scratch..It turned out really good.  Not as good as the real, Italian deal, but not bad at all for my first time making something that required yeast and rising and water between 105 and 115 degrees..I think if I were to make it again (not unlikely) I would try a different sauce recipe.

Sorry about the weird yellow picture..

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Cooking with Katie Lee..

  1. Whitney

    Look at you!! Making real food and all. All this in preparation for our dinner party in the future(?) haha

  2. cindylou88

    Ohhh…my…gawd…those truffles!

    Yes, I am 90% sure I am going to Panama with them. I probably would have gone anyway, but my new apartment which I was supposed to move into Aug 1st won’t be ready till the 15th, so I will be homeless for 15 days. Therefore, there is no way I could work those two weeks, so I’m probably headed back to Cave Spring anyway. Plus since the condo is free it’s exactly the kind of vacation I can afford. 😀 You and Whitney should both come too please please please! I miss you guys! We could all make your tasty recipies together and I promise to throw no chairs off the balcony and to not complain about Whitney’s superb musical tastes.

  3. Kristina

    Just wait until you start making bread. Totally addictive… the process and the product!

  4. Pingback: Dining In « Apples and Onions

  5. Pingback: Week of Bread: Day 1 « Apples and Onions

Leave a Reply

