“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” –Cicero

I haven’t done a lick of homework all long weekend, which is a decision I knew I’d regret when I first began making it.  Instead, I rearranged my stuffed-to-the-gills bookcase, inspired by this pic.  And this one.

Here’s the before:

The during:

And the after:

It took the whole Ryan Adams cd, so a little over an hour, and it was a very satisfying project.  I’ve wanted to do it for months, but my biggest qualm was splitting up my series books.  I knew it would really mess with my OCD-ness, but I like the color spectrum so much, it hasn’t bothered me too bad that all my books are out of order.  Before, I had a really good system.  The top row was classics, next was more contemporary fiction and non, then the series shelf, the craft books (with a couple of cookbooks having inched in recently) and the Christianity row, nonfic on one side, fiction on the other (although most of my Christian fiction is Beverly Lewis, which took up most of my series shelf). 

I made everyone in my family come and look, and they all think I’m crazy.  But I sit on my bed and look at my books while I’m blow-drying my hair in the mornings, and now it’s soo much more fun to stare at.  You can’t see the bottom row in these pics, but it has my yearbooks, magazines, and some of my dvds.  There are close-ups here.

What do you think?

I think that something has to be done about these pink walls.  And all this furniture that does not fit in this little room.  It’s giving me hives.  And I need another bookcase.  Because this one and the smaller one on the other wall are both full.

Here’s some more interesting book talk I happened across while I wasn’t writing lesson plans:  Can you imagine arranging this library by color? 

And I can’t imagine trimming my collection down to just one “middle shelf“..Maybe one day I’ll share which books would be on mine..

Reading this post  is interesting..skim through a chunk of the comments, too..

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to ““A room without books is like a body without a soul.” –Cicero

  1. Whitney

    I am totally going to do this with mine. Someday. First I need to get a bigger book shelf. Right now, mine is completely bursting-at-the-seams full and I have a drawer that is the same way. Once I decide to invest in a really timeless and expensive book shelf, I will color coordinate my books. And it will be beautiful.

    So, Ryan Adams helped you do that? Hmmm. I take it you like the CD? Which are your favorites, and why?

    Oh, and by the way, Liz is definitely coming to the beach with us. Thought you would like to know that.

  2. Whitney

    Oh…and I forgot to say that your shelf looks perfect… like out of a magazine-beautiful.

  3. wedontchoose

    Ikea? You just tell me when and I am so there. I have always wanted to go…

  4. rachelinfiction

    That’s a really great idea! I have so many books that half of them are in boxes… I ran out of room on my shelves. This is a great and very attractive way of organizing, I like it!

  5. cindylou88

    That’s really awesome! I admire you, but I could never do that. I have to have it all arranged by genre or I could never find a poem when I was in the mood. 🙂 I need another bookcase too! The sad thing is I got a second big one not too long ago, and it only lasted me two months before I started having to stack on top of the rows again.

  6. Ann

    I found this while looking for the text of Edna St. Vincent Millay’s “I Like Americans” and love the idea of the rainbow arrangement. My tall Ikea bookcase, including the extension shelf that makes it even feet tall, is jammed. Note to” wedon’tchoose”: if you’re not near Ikea (we have two in the Philadelphia area), they have a great catalog or youcango to their website. And I’m still looking for that poem.

  7. Pingback: Saturday Chic « Apples and Onions

  8. Pingback: in my room « Apples and Onions

  9. Pingback: Thoughts on a rainy Thursday « Apples and Onions

  10. Pingback: Out with the old.. « Apples and Onions

  11. The style of writing is quite familiar . Did you write guest posts for other bloggers?

  12. Pingback: This is a sickness « Apples and Onions

  13. fleurdegivre

    Wow, just stumbled about this post. I’m really tempted to rearrange my books in the same way. I normally sort them by genre and by height (if possible by author but height is more important – my friends just ignore my silliness). This looks so great!

Leave a Reply

