Happy to have you back

I know I don’t usually talk about God on this blog.  Partly because my relationship with God is very personal to me and partly because for the past few months, my relationship with God has not been very much a part of my daily life at all.  I have recognized this from time to time, week to week, but I haven’t done much to change it.

Last night I was journaling in a book I got in my Easter basket, with Bible verses on each page, and the verse was Zephaniah 3:17.

“The LORD thy God in the midst of thee is might; he will save, he will rejoice over thee with joy.”

I love the way that’s phrased in the King James: “in the midst of thee”; it makes me feel like God is inside my body, which, of course, he is.  So I looked it up in my church Bible:

“For the LORD your God is living among you.

He is a mighty savior.

He will take delight in you with gladness.

With his love, he will calm all your fears.

He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”  (New Living Translation)

(The bit about calming all my fears was especially good, since my fears were what I was journaling about to begin with.)

And in the Message:

“Your GOD is present among you,

a strong Warrior there to save you.

Happy to have you back, he’ll calm you with his love and delight you with his songs.”

“Happy to have you back”.  I love that.  I love that even though I have been distant from God for whatever reason these past few months, God is happy to have me back.  I feel like I’ve been bouncing around a space shuttle when I could have the whole solar system.  But God is happy to have me back, and I’m happy to be back.

(I’m collecting my verse in different translations to tape around my mirror where I sit and blow-dry/straighten my hair and put on my make-up in the morning..anybody got one for me?)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

