KLJ is my BFF

When I was flipping through the November issue of Real Simple magazine, I saw this recipe for calzones, and it was like a lightbulb flipped on in my head.  Hey, I could do that.  I could make calzones.  I could make my own homemade calzones.  How awesome would that be?  Pretty stinkin’ awesome, let me just tell you.

100_3165

So the first weekend in November, I started experiementing.  I used the breadmaker (way underestimated piece of machinery) to make the dough, then made two circles, slapped on some sauce, cheese, and pepperoni and folded them over.  And they were good.  My sister and I both enjoyed them.  But they weren’t quite right.  The dough was too thick.  So I kept thinking about it…

100_3167

I think I’ve mentioned once or twice how much I love Katie Lee Joel’s cookbook The Comfort Table.  It’s fabulous.  Everything I’ve made from it has gotten rave reviews..I was thinking about thinner pizza dough, and I decided to try calzones with Katie Lee’s recipe.

100_3171

Oh my gosh.  Pizza Perfection.  My whole family LOVED them.  They were soo good; the crust was just the right thickness.  I made them again for me and Sara this past weekend and she declared that I am her favorite sister.  (Not that I had a lot of competition for that title, but hey, I’ll take what I can get.  She even watched Kit Kittredge: An American Girl with me that night.)  (KK:AAG is a very cute movie, btw.)  While we were watching the movie, we ate made-from-scratch cinnamon rolls, another recipe from the book, and another winner.  Pretty much everything a cinnamon roll should be.

100_3172

So, anyway.  All that to say that I have mastered the art of making the calzone.  And possibly stuck myself with a less-than-simple trademark dish with requires things like water between 105 and 115 degrees and yeast and such.  But…I think it’s worth it.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “KLJ is my BFF

  1. Right now it’s raining outside and chilly and I’m starting to get hungry for dinner and THAT LOOKS SO GOOD! 🙂

  2. Kristina

    What? No MDK: OTL pictures???? I’m so disappointed!

  3. cindylou88

    Those look AH-mazing.

Leave a Reply

