Thoughts on a rainy Thursday

It was cold, cold, wet and rainy day today..and I was wearing the thinnest of ballet-slipper-type shoes and the longest jeans I own..not the best combination.  I tried to romanticize the weather by pretending I was in England, with varying success.  My old residence hall in the rain always reminded me of Hogwarts.

Yesterday was a horrible day, so today I decided to take some time for myself and my mental health.  I ate lunch alone at Subway and read “Little House in the Big Woods”; went to the Christian bookstore, but didn’t have my coupon so I didn’t buy anything.  I read the first bit of Rob Bell’s new book; has anybody read any of his stuff?  It started off pretty good, but I don’t know..Feedback would be much appreciated.

Later in the afternoon I went to one of my favorite antique malls.  I was thinking I’d look for little vintage houses for a Christmas village like Alicia’s (I pretty much want to recreate Alicia’s entire house; we have exactly the same taste) and plates for a plate wall like this amazing one.  (Would a plate wall like that look dumb on a bedroom wall?  I thought at first that it might, but then I saw this (the second picture) and it changed my mind a little bit).  Anyway, I didn’t find any plates, but I found lots of other little treasures, including some I’m going back for after I get paid next week.  But more on that later; one thing is still in my car and I want to get the others set up well before I share them.

Design*Sponge sneak peeks are my new favorite way to procrastinate.  I really like this one (note the color-coded books–I’m thinking mine might go back that way; it was fun)

Making me laugh today.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thoughts on a rainy Thursday

  1. Kristina

    I love Rob Bell (also from MI, same church as Cold Tangerine lady). Try Sex.God. It was one of the best books I’ve read this year.

  2. wedontchoose

    I have also read some of Rob Bell’s stuff… “Velvet Elvis” is pretty good… I have it if you want to borrow it. I hope today is a better day!

Leave a Reply

