Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea..

..and in the Georgia Aquarium, where my family took a long anticipated trip the day after Christmas..

It was a foggy day; we couldn’t see the tops of the buildings.

100_3459

Everyone picked that day to go to the aquarium..

img_0614

img_0618

I am a mish-mash of animal print.

img_0638

I never miss an opportunity to pet a sting ray; they’re so soft.

img_0647

As much as I love seeing the sharks and whales and otters and all the others, my favorites are the fish.  I had something of a “God moment” looking at all the different kinds of fish, thinking about how the same God who created all the hundreds of different varieties, some smaller than my thumb, every combination of color and pattern you could imagine, put the same kind of care, and much more, into creating me.  It reminded me of this:

“Look at the birds.  They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them.  And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? …And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you.  Why do you have so little faith?” –Matthew 6:26, 30

100_3463

And this:

I’ve been to church
I’ve read the book
I know he’s here
But I don’t look
Near as often as I should
Yeah, I know I should
His fingerprints are everywhere
I just slowed down to stop and stare
Opened my eyes and man I swear
I saw God today

–George Strait, “I Saw God Today”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea..

  1. Hi there! I just came over from Liz’s blog and wanted to say hi. You got some really great pictures from the aquarium but you MUST be a very patient person to hang around all those people! Looks like fun anyway. 🙂

  2. glennhallgraphicdesign

    I had a ‘God Moment’ when I visited a large aquarium in Hull, England. Seeing all those colourful fish made me wonder if God had given up on mankind and had decided to just lock himself away in his room and spend all his time just designing fish on his AppleMac. Or maybe, I thought, to while away the hours in heaven you can go to a ‘Fish Design’ workshop where they hand out blank shapes of fish & you can just sit there crayoning new patterns on them all day and then God sees them and approves all of them cos he’s kinda nice like that.

Leave a Reply

