Lazy Hazy Crazy: Summer Reading 09

In the past, I’ve been pretty good (to say the least) at keeping lists of the books I’ve read..This summer, not so much.

Oh, I read.   I just didn’t keep track of it.  I read (in no particular order):

  • Rainbow Valley and Rilla of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery, completing the Anne of Green Gables series (my favorite is still Anne of the Island, which I reread)
  • O Pioneers! by Willa Cather
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society–I really enjoyed this book!
  • I read a children’s book about Carl Sandburg, and then visited his house (more on that later), and then fell head over heels for his poetry.
  • Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson–an extremely moving book..
  • I got on a sad book kick at an inopportune time, resulting in my sobbing over Each Little Bird that Sing by Deborah Wiles..
  • And then The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  I sobbed my eyes out, and I pretty much never cry while reading..
  • Impossible by Nancy Werlin tried and failed to produce tears
  • Part of my bridesmaid present was Set-Apart Femininity by Leslie Ludy, which sent me on a Eric and Leslie Ludy bender.  I read When Dreams Come True, When God Writes Your Love Story, Authentic Beauty, When God Writes Your Life Story, The Bravehearted Gospel, and Meet Mr. Smith.  Powerful stuff.  I need to read God’s Gift to Women.  And they have some new stuff coming out early next year–excitement!
  • I reread The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom.  Wow.  Just.  Wow.
  • I flipped through a book of wedding customs at work (the children’s dept at the library) and was asked to read some to the rest of the workers.  Which resulted in one of several proposals (or propositions, more accurately) that I received this summer..
  • Read a bunch of Andrew Clements books.  Very good “school stories” for the 9-12 y.o. set.
  • I felt very studious and overacheiver-ish when I read The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller and Book Crush by Nancy Pearl.
  • I reread Pride and Prejudice and a favorite from my piano competition days: Broken Chords by Barbara Snow Gilbert–kind of a perfect teenage book.  Makes me want to fall in love with a boy who plays piano.
  • Kind of a perfect teenage book I discovered: The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
  • And another: My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger–very sweet..Baseball, Mary Poppins, musical theater, young love..sounds like a winning combination for a YA book to me..

As one of my teachers says, life’s too short to stay with a book you don’t like or a man you don’t love, so there aren’t any flat-out bad books on this list.  Right now, I’ve kinda run aground, reading-wise.  I think it’s time to start utilizing my college library and the inter-library loan system again..I’m thinking of rounding out my Ludy experience and exploring P.G. Wodehouse.  Do you have any suggestions for me?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Lazy Hazy Crazy: Summer Reading 09

  1. wedontchoose

    I am going to be in town this coming weekend. I really want to go to that Rome 175 year anniversary thing. Do you know anything about it? Dad was telling me there are going to be fireworks or something out at the levee…? Anyway, it is a long weekend for me, so if you are free this weekend through Monday, we should get together! I miss thee!!

  2. Kristina

    I just bought “Impossible” last week 😉 I have yet to start it though, a few things to finish first.

Leave a Reply

