Can I just read for a living?

100_4398

One of my favorite things is to walk through my house and see every single member of my family reading a book.  It makes me think twice about having a t.v. in my future home (although I am rather attached to Glee, and Project Runway, and The Hills/The City<-don’t mock) (and speaking of, there’s this girl in one of my classes who looks just like a heavier-set, brunette Whitney Port.  Sometimes I think about this when I should be taking notes on Russian politics.)

So.  Where were we?  oh yeah..Books.

So I realized not to long ago that I have missed out on a lot of ‘the classics’ over the course of my life.  My dad just finished reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin.  (Just for the fun of it–wtc?! )  He’s taking a break with a John Grisham, then he’s going to read To Kill a Mockingbird.  When he told me this, I remembered that I have never read TKAM, but have always planned to, someday, maybe.  You know.  When the urge hits me.  So we went to Barnes and Noble, bought the cheapest edition of the book, and he told me that if I wanted to read it while he was reading his other book, I could.  So I figured, what the heck, and read it.

 

Oh. My. Gosh.  How have I made it through 21 years of my life without reading this book?!  It was so great; and it completely reaffirmed my resolution to go back and make up for some of the (well-known) classics I’ve missed out on or not fully appreciated the first time around.  I started making a list, and figured I’d try to read at least one classic a month.  Then, I was flipping through my copy of The Daring Book for Girls (no. 1 book I wish had been around when I was nine or ten), and they have three pages of “Books That Will Change Your Life”.  This includes everything from Ramona to Wuthering Heights (incidentally, the classic I had made a mental note to reread in November).  So I’ve pretty much decided to just work my way through this list.  I’ve read probably half of them or so, but many not since I was a kid, so I think I’m going to reread them.  And then, because this list, although it’s excellent, doesn’t include several of my childhood favorites, I think I’m going to make my own list.  Of course I will tell you all about it.  You know I love to talk about books.  If you want to read along, maybe we can have our own virtual bookclub..

What would be on your list of girl classics and other books that will change your life?

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Can I just read for a living?

  1. Whitney

    I love this kind of thing…sharing book recommendations and whatnot. Here are books that I think everyone should read:

    _Frankenstein_ (Mary Shelley)-not as grotesque or whatever as it is sometimes perceived to be. The story itself is very good, and sweet at times. I was surprised.

    _Oral History_ (Lee Smith)- this is the best southern novel I have read. The story stays with you for a long times after you read it. I really like that the story is told from several different perspectives. The characters are perfect.

    _The Glass Menagerie_ (Tennessee Williams) This is a play that portrays a woman character in a very interesting way. It held my attention very tightly the entire time. I really like Williams’ stuff, but this is my favorite. And while you’re reading him, there is, of course, _A Streetcar Named Desire_, but I think you’ve already read that.

    I think that girls should have to read _The Awakening_ as well.

Leave a Reply

