The Ultimate Austen

If I had a lot of free time on my hands, and fewer brain cells, and some more money, I would start a new blog/project.  I would make it my goal to read and review every Jane Austen knock-off book out there. 

I would have to first master my deep-felt moral opposition to this genre.

And then, after cataloguing and analyzing the mounds and mounds of these works, I would write my own Jane Austen knock-off/sequel/diary/whatever.  And it would be the perfect storm of Jane Austen knock-off.

It would, however, take me a really long time to get to this point, as you cannot take one step in a bookstore without seeing three of these books.  I find it morbidly fascinating.  I would be reading for quite a while.

Have I written about this before?  I know I’ve thought about it, but I couldn’t find an actual post.

So, any sponsors for this venture?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Ultimate Austen

  1. Kristina

    I’ll be a test reader! On a related note, I read “Darcy and Elizabeth” and loved it. Fitzwilliam’s character was amazingly developed by the author.

  2. cindylou88

    I think it a splendid idea! I also, btw, have a deep-felt moral opposition to the genre, which I revisited while trying to explain Pride & Prejudice & Zombies to Jackie at Borders today. Its _basically_ plagiarism at its worst.

  3. Nikki

    I completely agree! I just recently purchased “Mr. Darcy, Vampire” and plan on reading it as soon as I’m through re-reading P&P. I see them all over Amazon and it’s like I need a “guide to Austen parodies/sequels/diaries”.. And in regards to the thrift shopping, I’m down anytime! There’s only one good place in Rome, but I’m making it my goal for the next 8 months to find them all over GA.

Leave a Reply

